Thread: No fly zone!

Default No fly zone!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/europe/8628323.stm

Sounds like still no flights from the UK, in the aftermath of the Icelandic volcano.

It also seems the airlines are quite desparate to resume flights, and there are a lot of angry passengers.

Of course I'm a third generation safety engineer, so tend to lean towards "perhaps we shouldn't fly if this presents a risk".

I think everyone gets very vocal about an issue like this which grounds planes. But should one fly and have an accident, the first question which will be asked will be "if you knew there was a danger, why did you let it fly".
    Remember, just because Davros is dead doesn't mean the Dalek menace has been contained ......

Initially I was sceptical about all the planes being grounded. But once I saw the explanation of what happens when a jet passes through a cloud of ash I was convinced! The whole concept of the ash turning to glass is good enough reason for me.
    Pity. I have no understanding of the word. It is not registered in my vocabulary bank. EXTERMINATE!

Is it worth risking lives, or making people angry? I suspect people will get over their anger quicker than being dead.

Besides which it's lovely and quiet without the planes streaking overhead all the time here.

Si xx

I've just got my handcuffs and my truncheon and that's enough.

I suspect the woman on the news who chirped "It's the closest we've come to a war time evacuation" as she had to get the Dover Ferry hasn't any actual experience of the Blitz.

Si.

It's a difficult situation for all concenred, but some of the passnegers really ought to try and make some effort to understand a bit more about what their flight actually entails before making such a fuss. I've heard people say 'can't they just fly over/under/around it?', as if that's as easy as driving your car around a dead cat in the road.